Juliusz Schauder Medal  Awarding Ceremony, September 14, 2015

By the decision of the jury, appointed by the Scientific Council of the Juliusz P. Schauder Center for Nonlinear Studies at the Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń, Poland, and consisting of Professors Wacław Marzantowicz (chairman of the jury, Poznań), Marek Izydorek (Gdańsk), Grzegorz Karch (Wrocław), Jean Mawhin (Louvain-la-Neueve), Roman Srzednicki (Kraków) and Andrzej Szulkin (Stockholm), the winner of the 2014 Schauder Medal is the distinguished American mathematician Professor Paul H. Rabinowitz from the University Wisconsin-Madison, USA. The Schauder Medal is awarded to individuals for their significant achievements related to topological methods in nonlinear analysis.

The awarding ceremony will take place during the VII Symposium of Nonlinear Analysis which will be held on September 14 - 18, 2015 in Toruń at the Faculty of Mathematics and Computer Science.

Perhaps more than anyone else, Professor Rabinowitz deeply influenced the field of nonlinear analysis becoming a true inheritor of the mathematical legacy of Juliusz Schauder. The famous global bifurcation theorem, the mountain pass, the linking and saddle theorems, results concerning the existence od periodic solutions to hamiltonian systems, variational methods in the theory of critical points of strongly indefinite functional under the absence of compactness conditions of the Palais-Smale type are only some of achievements of Paul Rabinowitz which have found their place in the history of mathematics.

Paul H, Rabinowitz was born in 1939, received his PhD at the New York University under the direction of Jürgen Moser in 1966. He joined the faculty of Stanford University and in 1969 he became the professor at the University Wisconsin-Madison, where  he is the Edward Burr Van Vleck Professor of Mathematics and a Vilas Research Professor. He has visited many mathematical institutions all over the world (among them universities at Aarhus, Pisa, Paris and ETH in Zurich). In 1978 Paul Rabinowitz became a fellow of the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation. He is a winner of many prestigious prizes, including the George David Birkhoff Prize awarded by the AMS and SIAM in 1998, and he received an honorary degree from the University of Paris in 1992. Paul Rabinowitz was elected as a  member of the United States National Academy of Sciences in 1998. In 2012 he became a fellow of the American Mathematical Society.


   8:00 -  9:45   Registration (Hall)
 10:00 - 10:30   Opening and Awarding Ceremony (Aula)
 10:30 - 11:30   Occasional Address by Jean Mawhin
 11:30 - 12:00   Coffee Break
 12:00 - 13:00   Award Winner's Lecture
 13.00 - 15.00   Lunch Break
 15:00 - 15:40   Plenary Lecture
 15:40 - 16:10   Coffee Break
 16:10 - 16:50   Plenary Lecture
 19:00 - 20:00   Concert Duo Lontano [program]
               20:00   Banquet (Artus Court, Old Town)


Paul H. Rabinowitz